Parish logo, link to home Emmanuel Church link to Church of England websitelink to Diocese of Salisbury website

Emmanuel District Church Council

The team parish was formed in 1979. There are four Districts which make up the team. They are Radipole, Emmanuel, St.Mary’s and St Johns. These four districts come under the Parochial Church Council which is the legal body to whom we are responsible. Members of Emmanuel Church are elected onto the Council at the Annual Church meeting and hold a post for at least 3 years. Members represent the following areas: Children and Young People, Homegroups, Evangelism, Deanery Synod, Parochial Church Council, Lay Pastors as well as Chairman, Wardens, Secretary and Treasurer.

The purpose of the DCC is:

  • To discern the mind of Christ “His Will”, in all that the Church does both structurally and in mission. We need to move in step with Him.
  • We need to make decisions to enable us to move forward.
  • We need to implement decisions in our own areas of responsibility and in a general way which affects us all.
  • We need to witness to the uniting Power and love of Jesus. The DCC enables us to work together integrating our ideas with Jesus uniting them. We are all here to express the joy of the Lord.
  • To encourage all members of Emmanuel to be involved in the outworking of the vision. We should all actively know the Church’s vision, encourage and pray to God for His family so that it flows alongside all the congregation.
Emmanuel Church
The Parish of Radipole and Melcombe Regis, Weymouth, Dorset - St Aldhelm's, St Ann's, St John's, Park, Emmanuel and St Mary's Churches